Australian Women Writers Challenge 2012

There’s nothing I like more than a reason to spend time with my nose in a book. The Australian Women Writers Challenge has been set up to actively promote the reading and reviewing of a wide range of contemporary Australian women writers’ work. I’m starting small – setting myself the Stella goal of reading at least three and reviewing two, but who knows, if I get on a roll I may just do a few more.

These are the ones I have my eye on right now:
Caleb’s Crossing – Geraldine Brooks
A Common Loss – Kirsten Tranter
Animal People – Charlotte Wood
The Light Between Oceans – M. L. Stedman

Are you up for the challenge this year?

Find out more at: http://www.australianwomenwriters.com/p/australian-women-writers-book-challenge_25.html

One comment

  1. Hi Hannah

    Welcome to the challenge. I’ve read one out of the four you’ve listed (Caleb’s Crossing) and two more are on my list (A Common Loss and Animal People). I haven’t seen a review of Tranter’s book appear yet on the AWW blog, so if you write one, please ping me on Twitter (below).

    The Light Between Oceans and your own work is new to me – a benefit of the challenge: discovering so many new books and authors.

    I hope you’ll join in the Twitter discussion via the #aww2012 hashtag. Also Wednesdays are “read a review and comment” days: participants are encouraged to visit other blogs whose links to reviews on the challenge page (second Mr Linky list) and leave a comment.

    If you write a substantial review/discussion and would like to have it feature on the AWW blog (of a book from a genre other than the one you’re published in, preferably), please let me know as I’m scheduling “guest author” reviews throughout the year. (I’ll need a short bio and links to your book, along with the guest blog, to be emailed to me).

    I look forward to seeing your reviews.

    @ElizabethLhuede
    & @auswomenwriters (on Twitter)

Leave a Reply

