Book Love: The Crafty Minx at Home – plus giveaway

As a writer, I’m always looking for inspiring ideas and authentic detail to help bring a character, a scene or a setting to life. In evoking the tumbledown cottage at the heart of The Shadow Year, I developed an unhealthy obsession with country lifestyle magazines and beautiful coffee table books depicting stylish interiors. Now, I have a new interiors obsession: The Crafty Minx at Home, written by the clever and crafty Kelly Doust.

TCMH-cover_small

I met Kelly last year at the Sydney Writer’s Festival. She struck me then as a wonderfully sassy and stylish lady, so it was with great pleasure that I went out and bought a copy of her new book. And boy, is it gorgeous! For a writer looking for inspiration, Kelly’s heady mix of antique treasures, stylish interiors and crafty projects are a joy to behold. I’m not sure I’ll ever screen print my own pillowcases or sew a flower corsage (these clumsy fingers seem to have been made for typing, not stitching) but Kelly’s gorgeous book has inspired me to look afresh at my home, to appreciate its quirks and its character, and most importantly perhaps in today’s age of look-a-like IKEA interiors, it’s encouraged me to be a little braver with my furnishings, to inject a little more personality here and there around our home. Frankly, this book makes me feel a whole lot more stylish just for having it sitting there on my shelf!

One of Kelly's beautiful interiors

One of Kelly’s beautiful interiors – I just love this ladder bookshelf.

Fortunately, you don’t just have to take my word for it. Courtesy of Harper Collins publishers, I have 5 copies of The Crafty Minx at Home to give away (Australian readers only, sorry!). The first five to comment ‘yes please’ in the comments box attached to this post will be sent a copy. Hurrah!

(Kelly is giving away copies of The Shadow Year over on her blog … if you want one of those head on over to visit her here, quick!)

9 comments

  1. Woah! That was the fastest giveaway ever. Congratulations Tanya Mulhall, Jane Cotter, Bronwyn Dean, Andrea Johns and Claudia. Please direct message me your postal addresses through my Facebook page or you can email it to me at [hannah underscore norman at hotmail dot com] and the book will be sent to you direct from HarperCollins. You’re in for a real treat. 🙂

    1. There is an online Australian retailer called ‘Booktopia’ who stock the book and deliver to international destinations. I’d try there if you haven’t been able to find it through your local or online retailers. Good luck! It’s a lovely book. All best, Hannah

Leave a Reply

