Debbie Millman: Courage and the Creative Life

I recommend the following course of action for those who are just beginning their careers, or for those like me, who may be reconfiguring midway through: heed the advice of Robert Frost. Start with a big, fat lump in your throat, start with a profound sense of wrong, a deep homesickness, or a crazy love sickness, and run with it. If you imagine less, less will be undoubtedly what you deserve. Do what you love, and don’t stop until you until you get what you love. Work as hard as you can, imagine immensities, don’t compromise, and don’t waste time. Start now, not twenty years from now, not two weeks from now. Now.

Click here to read more from Debbie Millman’s inspiring speech at brainpickings.org

2 comments

  1. I think some of my most creative moments are in the midst of busyness, such as moving home recently and finding beauty in the boxes piled up and writing words saturated in the nostalgia that I felt at one stage like I was drowning in. Also found your blog again, to follow and say thanks for my latest read- secrets of the tides, enjoyed it to the end.

    1. Thank you for reading Secrets of the Tides – I’m really glad you enjoyed it. I agree with you that packing up a life, putting it in boxes and embracing the nostalgia that comes with change can be a very inspiring time. I wish you every happiness in your new home. x

Leave a Reply

